Share Your Catalogs with Others in Capture One Pro 7

P1040208

Share your Catalogs, and open up for collaborative sharing among multiple users. Choose between two sharing states of a Catalog, depending on the workflow. Read on to discover the advantages of each state.

Sometimes it is helpful to have more than one person access a Catalog for collaborative sharing. This sharing process is very easily achieved within Capture One Pro 7.

A simple feature exists within Capture One Pro 7 to keep the Catalog structure safe and to avoid the need for duplicating the Catalog itself or the images within.

Capture One Pro 7 Catalogs can either be in a Locked or Unlocked state. In the Locked state, multiple people can open and view the Catalog, but not make changes. In the Unlocked state the Catalog can only be open by one user at a time. That “admin” user will be able to make full changes and edits to the Catalog.

Sharing Catalogs in Capture One Pro 7

When you create a Catalog in Capture One 7, a .cocatalog file bearing the name you specified is created and on an Apple system it looks like this in the Finder.

2013-05-14_10-19-48

This is the one Catalog file that contains everything Capture One 7 needs to open and display your images with the Catalog information. Double-clicking the .cocatalog file opens it in Capture One 7 on your computer.

The Catalog structure is a little different in Windows. A folder is created with the name of your Catalog and contains a few items that Capture One 7 needs to open and display the images with the Catalog information. The file circled in orange (below) is the equivalent to a .cocatalog file as seen above on the Mac platform.
2013-05-14_10-24-21You need to double-click this file to open the Catalog in Capture One 7 on your computer. You can of course also access Catalog files via the File>Open command (on Mac or Windows) within Capture One 7 and browse to the Catalog location. Catalogs are compatible between Mac and Windows, so you are not limited to one platform.

Locking and Unlocking Catalogs

When a user has a Catalog open in Capture One 7 it is by default locked and unable to access for other users.

warning600If you try to open an already open Catalog you will see a warning message like the one above.

This behaviour prevents two or more people editing a Catalog at the same time. In order to edit the contents of a Catalog one user must first close it before another user can open it. If you wish for multiple people to open a Catalog at the same time it must first be Locked.  To lock a Catalog go to File>Lock Catalog in Capture One.

2013-05-14_10-44-16

When locking a Catalog, the following warning appears.

2013-05-14_10-45-52

After clicking Lock, the Catalog will reload in a locked state.  Multiple users can now access the ‘Read Only’ Catalog. To return it to its unlocked state, simply choose File>Unlock Catalog.

Please note, that if sharing a Catalog on a network, network speed may affect the performance of browsing and editing the Catalog. Optimize your network to have the best experience sharing Capture One Catalogs. Use the fastest network speed possible and store your images on high speed hard drives.

All the best,
Niels

The Image Quality Professor

Niels V. Knudsen

Niels V. Knudsen is Phase One’s Image Quality Professor. He is responsible for breakthrough advancements in image quality both in Phase One’s medium format camera systems and in its digital imaging software.

11 thoughts on “Share Your Catalogs with Others in Capture One Pro 7

  1. Dave Gardner

    I am a LightRoom user and while I have only used Capture One for a short time I am getting very attached to it. The one blocker for me is this: I work on-site in tethered mode on my laptop, and create a new Session for each job. Now I get back to the shop and want to move (yes move, not copy) the raw files from the laptop to my network file system. How best to go about this, without losing any adjustments I’ve made? Would I be better off using the Catalog rather than Sessions? That would certainly be better in the shop, though Sessions are handy in the field. Can I convert from Session to catalog?

    Reply
  2. Swen

    Dave,

    this is how I work with sessions in the field or in the studio:

    - open a new session per shoot/project or whatever
    - shoot thethered to this session
    - select and rate images
    - create albums or smart albums for sorting images
    - export tiff, psd for further processing
    - import processed images, the output folder will update automatically (unlike catalogs)
    - archive the whole session on my NAS

    Now the important part:
    - open a C1 catalog which stays on my internal HDD
    - import the whole session stored on my NAS
    - C1 will now create a project with all my session albums, ratings and metadata
    - this includes ALL adjustments and output files

    Further I can work with my images from the catalog, show them to others, print them later, etc. I found this the most flexible solution for me.

    Feel free to ask futher if needed.

    Swen

    Reply
    1. Dave Gardner

      This works well. I had failed to realize that a Session could be moved around on disk so freely. The only small problem I had is that after importing the Session the Catalog ends up with a lot of ‘Capture’ ‘Output’ etc folders, so I need to view with ‘Show Folders Hierarchy’ selected to show the context.

      Reply
  3. Swen Veckes

    Dave, make sure you import the session via the menu: File->Import Session. C1 will then import the session into a project and add all albums and folders underneath in the user defined albums. When working with a catalog you are not free to browse the file system with C1 as you are with sessions. The preferred way to sort browse your images are albums and projects. The folders tab is just for referencing your images location.

    Reply
    1. Dave Gardner

      Sven, NOW I understand! I was using the standard Import Images when I should have been using Import Session. Now I get a hierarchy under Collections, headed with my Session name and containing the session structure. Much better! Thanks again Swen.

      Reply
    1. David Grover

      Hi Marcin,

      Its the reflection of the sky – no trickery there at all!

      I do beleive though I increased saturation of the blue sky and lowered luminosity, which will have affected the windows too.

      Reply
  4. Jiten

    I store my pics on an external 3TB drive at home. I use my PhaseOne on my Macbook Pro to store my files, hence the catalogue resides on my

    I hook the macbook to a cinema display at work and edit my pics offline as and when I get time.

    Now, I also have a 27″ iMac at home and would want to continue editing the pics on that too. Is there a way to work on the same catalogue on both my machines?

    Thanks.

    Reply
    1. David Grover

      Hi Jiten,

      I guess the easiest way would be to have the catalog on an external portable drive so you can move it between machines.

      David

      Reply
  5. Pablo Serrano

    Can a second user with access the unlocked catalog open a file from the catalog in Photoshop CC 2014?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Heads up! You are attempting to upload an invalid image. If saved, this image will not display with your comment.